Pillar晶片天線技術

Pillar chip antennas technology關鍵字:晶片天線,Pillar,WiFi,路由器,交換器,藍牙,TWS,真無線藍牙,耳機,耳塞

離地間隙和PCB尺寸不再是問題

世界一流的微型晶片天線的設計者和製造商Unictron推出了一種創新的新產品,稱為Pillar天線。 Pillar天線是獲得專利的SMD型晶片天線,不需要太多的接地間隙,並且其性能與電路板接地平面的尺寸無關。

對於天線工程師來說,穿戴式設備通常具有有限的空間和具有挑戰性的安裝環境,以設計出令人滿意的天線來滿足設備的性能要求。 安裝在小型電路板上的微型晶片天線通常會導致性能不佳,例如聽音樂時偶爾出現延遲或難以連接到Wi-Fi網絡。 此外,當設備戴在人體上時,由FPC製成的常規天線或單極晶片天線會出現較大的頻移。 由天線周圍環境的變化引起的這種頻移可能會大大降低天線的信號接收品質。

通常,有兩種方法可以最大程度地減少天線的頻移,從而使可穿戴設備可以實現更高的RF連接能力:
1. 使用Unictron的TELA天線等環形天線,其近場電抗受磁場支配。 或者
2. 使用Unictron獲得專利的Pillar天線,該天線可以垂直極化並且不需要離地間隙,因此天線性能對周圍環境較不敏感

根據天線設計的一般原則,印刷電路板(PCB)上的接地層不僅充當反射RF波的金屬層,而且還允許天線在接地層上感應圖像電流,這可能會降低天線的性能。 天線。 因此,在設計天線時,不允許在天線上方或下方放置金屬層,這就是所謂的離地間隙(無金屬區域)。 然而,天線與人體之間的接地平面的存在可以最小化人體對天線阻抗的影響,因此可以最小化或消除頻率偏移和天線性能的惡化。

對於可穿戴設備的天線設計人員而言,設計一種在天線下方具有接地層的天線始終是一個挑戰,以最大程度地減少人體對天線性能的影響,同時還要避免可能引起的鏡像電流的負面影響。 在地面上。 Unictron的天線開發團隊致力於解決這一難題,並推出了獲得專利的名為Pillar Antenna的晶片天線。 Unictron的第一個Pillar天線是CW337。 這種高性能的晶片天線工作在2.4GHz ISM頻段,可支持所有小型攜帶型設備,例如:用於藍牙和Wi-Fi連接的耳機。 Unictron的CW337 Pillar晶片天線提供了兩方面的優勢:接地板上的微型晶片天線,用於可穿戴設備,而對鏡像電流和頻移的負面影響很小。

下圖顯示了CW337在電路板上的安裝位置的幾種版本。 綠色代表金屬層,而藍色代表沒有金屬層的區域。 黃色區域是用於天線安裝的金屬墊。 頂部金屬層上需要在天線安裝墊周圍留一些空間,以將天線與接地層分開。

請注意,以上圖片代表PCB的俯視圖。 實施CW337時,始終建議在PCB的底部上有一個完整的金屬層,以減少人體對天線性能的影響。

天線安裝

由於不需要離地間隙,因此CW337幾乎可以安裝在PCB上的任何位置。 但是,如位置C所示,在電路板的邊緣安裝CW337時,為了獲得更好的性能,最好使CW337遠離邊緣的距離至少為PCB寬度的10% 。 將CW337放置在PCB中心附近時,垂直極化將占主導地位。 當將Pillar天線從PCB的中心移至邊緣時,將獲得越來越多的水平極化。
上圖中安裝在位置C處的Pillar天線提供了水平極化和垂直極化的混合,並使天線能夠接收來自各個方向的具有各種極化的信號。 諸如高性能真無線藍牙(TWS)耳機等應用需要這種獨特的特性*。

典型應用

由於用戶獨特的耳朵形狀,皮膚的阻抗變化(例如乾性皮膚與油性皮膚)或信號源方向不確定,導致流行的TWS耳機經常有性能差和天線頻移的困擾。 現在,隨著Unictron的CW337晶片天線的推出,這些困難已成為過去的煩惱!
與常規的單極晶片天線相比,CW337可以提供更長的工作距離以及從各個方向接收的高品質訊號。 TWS耳機的用戶即使在廣泛的運動和慢跑中也可以享受連續的音樂。

*真無線藍牙耳機(或耳塞)是指左右兩側沒有線的耳機。 常規無線耳機的線連接左耳機和右耳機,並且天線可能隱藏在線中的音量控制器內。


相關頁面

比較產品

Pillar chip antennas technology

Pillar chip antennas technologyKeywords: Chip antenna, Pillar, WiFi, Router, Switch, Bluetooth, TWS, True wireless stereo, Earphone, Ear bud

Ground clearance and PCB dimensions are no longer a concern

Unictron, a designer and manufacturer of world-class miniature chip antennas, introduced an innovative new product called pillar antenna. Pillar antennas are patented SMD type chip antennas that don’t require much of a ground clearance area and the performance is independent of the dimensions of the ground plane of the circuit board.

Wearable devices normally have limited space and a challenging installation environment for the antenna engineers to design a satisfactory antenna to meet the performance requirements of the devices. Miniature chip antennas installed on small-sized circuit boards may often result in rather poor performance, such as occasional lags when listening to music, or difficulty in connecting to a Wi-Fi network. Furthermore, regular antennas made from FPC or monopole chip antennas show large frequency shifts when the device is worn on a human body. Such frequency shift caused by the change of environment surrounding the antenna may significantly degenerate the signal receiving quality of the antenna.

In general, there are two approaches to minimize the frequency shift of antennas so that the wearable devices can achieve higher RF connection capability:

1. Use loop-type antennas whose near field reactance is dominated by magnetic field, such as Unictron’s TELA antennas; or
2. Use Unictron’s patented Pillar antennas which can have vertical polarization and don’t require ground clearance, therefore antenna performance is not as sensitive to the surrounding environment.

According to the general principles of antenna design, a ground plane on a printed circuit board (PCB) not only behaves as a metal layer to reflect RF waves but also allows the antenna to induce image current on the ground plane which may degenerate the performance of the antenna. Therefore, in designing an antenna, no metal layers are allowed above or below the antenna, which is so called the ground clearance (area without metal). However, the existence of a ground plane between antenna and human body can minimize the influence of human body on the impedance of the antenna, therefore minimize or eliminate the frequency shift and deterioration of antenna performance.

It is always a challenge for an antenna designer of wearable devices to design an antenna with a ground plane underneath the antenna to minimize the influence of the human body on antenna performance and in the meantime also avoid the negative impact of image current which may be induced on the ground plane. Unictron’s antenna developing team has been devoted to resolve this challenge and come out with a patented chip antenna called Pillar Antenna. Unictron’s first pillar antenna is the CW337. This high performance chip antenna works at 2.4GHz ISM band to support all miniature portable devices, such as: ear phone, for Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connections. Unictron’s CW337 pillar chip antennas offer the best from both worlds: a miniature chip antenna on the ground plane for wearable devices with little negative impact of image current and frequency shift.

The pictures below show several versions of installation locations of CW337 on a circuit board. The green color represents the metal layer while the blue color represents the area without the metal layer. The yellow area is the metal pad for antenna installation. Some space around the installation pad of the antenna is needed on the top metal layer to separate the antenna from the ground plane.

Please note that the above pictures represent a top view of the PCB. When implementing the CW337, it is always recommended to have a full metal layer on the bottom side of the PCB to reduce the influence of the human body on antenna performance.

Antenna installation

Since there is no need for ground clearance, CW337 can be installed virtually anywhere on the PCB. However, as shown in placement C, when installing CW337 at the edge of the circuit board, in order to achieve better performance, it is preferred to keep CW337 away from the edge with a distance of at least 10% of the width of the PCB. When placing CW337 close to the center of the PCB, vertical polarization will be predominant. While moving the pillar antenna from the center to the edge of the PCB, more and more horizontal polarization will be obtained.
The pillar antennas installed at placement C from the above pictures provide a mixture of horizontal and vertical polarization and enable the antenna to receive signal from all directions with various polarization. Such unique characteristics is desired for applications such as high performance true wireless stereo (TWS) earphones*.

Typical applications

The ever popular TWS earphones often suffered low performance and frequency shift of antennas caused by the user’s unique shape of the ear, impedance variations of the skin (e.g. dry skin versus oily skin) or indefinite direction of signal source. These difficulties are now worries of the past with the introduction of Unictron’s CW337 chip antenna!
Compared to regular monopole chip antenna, CW337 provides longer working distance as well as good quality of signal reception from all directions. Users of TWS earphones can enjoy a continuous stream of music even during extensive exercise and jogging.

* True wireless stereo earphones (or ear buds) refer to earphones that have no cable connecting left and right part. Conventional wireless earphones have a cable connecting left and right ear buds, and may have the antenna hidden inside the volume control module that is part of the cable.

Similar posts like this

Compare Products